ACWYreviews · Entertainment · Event

[MUSIC EVENT] SAB A CAPPELLA Band ~ Rewind Concert 2017

In conjuction with the Good Times Music Festival 2017, which is organised by Musictoxin Productions ้Ÿณๆจ‚้€šๅ‹, there are 16 performances presented by local musicians in Malaysia since 23 September 2017 at various locations.

good times music festival cover photo
Photo Source

I had the opportunity to attend one of the performances presented by SAB Acappella Bandย (SAB) (formerly known as The Summer Singers)’s Rewind Concert 2017ย at Damansara Performing Arts Centre (DPAC)ย on 29 October 2017.

SAB poster
Photo Source

SAB is an A Capella band, established in August 2000. The band focuses on classic pop songs across various eras. You may want to know more about them through the Concert’s E-Bookย ๐Ÿ™‚

The Concert started at about 20:15. When we arrived, we checked in by scanning the QR Code sent to our e-mail before we queue to enter the hall. It was free seating, so we sat at the left column, third row.

SAB performed 15 sets of songs (one to three songs in each set) that evening, with a 15 minutes break in between.

The performers for the evening (ๆผ”ๅ‡บๆญŒๆ‰‹):
soprano | Caynes C ่ฌๅฉ‰่Œœ
mezzo soprano | Serene SeeYan
alto | Zheat-Huei Teoh
tenor | Ahde Seng
bass | Questyeong Yeong
vp | Kim Sng

I always believe that showing is better than telling in certain situations; so instead of telling you how good they are, I am going to show you three of my favourite sets ๐Ÿ™‚ [The videos are trimmed and shared with the permission of one of SAB’s singers] (My apologyย for the poorย quality of the videos)

The first that I am going to share with you, is the song ่‡ด็ˆธๅฆˆ; it is a tribute to the elders, especially parents, who have journeyed through life together with us, a very meaningful song:

The second song is, Hallelujah; SAB sang this in the original A Cappella way (raw A Cappella – instead of individual dynamic mics, only two (2) condenser mics were used) ~ unplugged within the unplugged. I personally love this the most ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, is ๅ‹‡ๆฐ” (another favourite song of mine); just to share with you the voices of all the members ๐Ÿ™‚ This member by the name of Ahde is not in the E-Book, apparently he is now playing a supporting role in SAB but still performing with the Band from time to time.

I love the way SAB engaged with the audience. Firstly, they played a mini quiz and the winner got a gift! ๐Ÿ˜„ Next, a singer invited an audience (whom I believe was his friend) on stage while singing. After the break, they started singing from the entrance and walked their way up to the stage, interacting with the audience along the way. Lastly, they celebrate birthday with October and November babies by inviting them on stage, sang for them, gave them a gift & took a we-fie with them ๐Ÿ™‚

fb_img_1509547843811782099174.jpg
Photo Source

 

This is also a good time to snap some photos for memories:

Do click a like on Facebook and follow them on Instagram to show our local talents our support ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, since the Good Times Music Festival is still ongoing, you can attend one of the performances too! For more information, you can check their Facebook Page ๐Ÿ™‚

Photo Source

I had a good time listening to the songs performed by SAB, and I hope you enjoyed it too ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for dropping by and have a good day ๐Ÿ™‚

Advertisements
ACWYreviews · Products · Service · Website

[PRINTCIOUS] The Parcel has Arrived!

It was just two (2) days ago that I was sharing about my order on Printcious and today, the parcel has arrived! According to the website, Printcious would need five (5) to 10 days (production + shipping) to deliver orders made in West Malaysia. I placed my order on 20 October 2017 and received it on 26 October 2017.

I could not hide my excitement when I saw the courier officer passing a beautiful red box to me and even before I took it I have already asked him if the parcel was from Printciousย ๐Ÿ™‚

I opened the box when I got home and I must say, I love the box! It is a very nice box with Printcious’ name and tagline printed on it. What’s next? Haha, of course quickly open the box to see the gift that I have prepared for my friend’s daughter ๐Ÿ˜€

Are you ready? One, two, three…..(drum rolling)

Isn’t it beautiful? The design is very simple, nothing fancy; just like what I have mentioned in my earlier post – short, simple and sweet!

I am very happy with the product! The tee is soft and comfortable to touch and the print quality looks good too! I am pretty sure my friend’s daughter will feel comfy wearing the tee ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me share with you the information of the product:

I bought this at a discounted price of RM34.90 (usual price RM49.90). The products are pretty affordable, ranging from RM10.00 to RM60.00 (if I am not mistaken). I notice that they do offer discount from time to time; so it is a good bargain to shop during those times ๐Ÿ™‚

I quite enjoy my online shopping experience on Printcious. The website is user-friendly and the online design tool that Printcious has provided is pretty easy to master. This is especially useful to someone who is almost clueless about designing like me.

There was only one (1) issue that I encountered during my online purchase – I did not receive any e-mail notification confirming my purchase (I wonder if this was due to technical error) and I had to log in to the website to check my order history.

Nonetheless, now that I have experienced the process of making purchases on Printcious, I would definitely want to share with everyone (and especially you who are reading this right now) and hope that this will give you more options to choose from when you want to DIY a gift.

Do visit their website onย https://www.printcious.com/my/ and get to know more about Printcious and start customizing ๐Ÿ˜€

ACWYreviews · Website

[WEBSITE] Printcious

Christmas is around the corner and it is time to start making preparations ๐Ÿ™‚ Every year I will have a list of recipients and from there, I will think of the gifts that I want to get for them.

I love personalized gifts because it feels warm to receive a gift that is specially prepared for me; so normally I would search online for ideas and products – it could be ย something hand made by myself or else, I will get items from the websites ๐Ÿ™‚

I have heard of Printcious but have not engaged their service; and I find that they offer a variety of personalized products! Hehe, I am excited to see what I can get from the website ๐Ÿ˜€

Printcious Homepage 231017.jpg

I am looking for a personalised gift for my friend’s daughter and I am quite sure I can get something from Printcious ๐Ÿ™‚

Whoa, look at the choices I have!

Categories.jpg

I decided to get one of the T-Shirtsย ๐Ÿ™‚

T-Shirt

Since my friend’s daughter is still young, I went on to check theย Graphic Tee (Kid).

graphic tee for kids

I chose Pink Angelย because it looks so cute and I think it would look nice on her ๐Ÿ™‚

Pink Angel

After I chose the size (I ticked “M”), I proceeded to personalize this cute little tee for my friend’s daughter ๐Ÿ™‚ So, I clicked on “Start Designing”:

Personalised 1

Here comes the exciting part!! ๐Ÿ˜€

personalised 2

This is interesting; we can choose the font, color of the font; and we can also insert image! I am a very simple person and I like the original design very much, so I just added her name “Kaylee in the “Your Text Here”.ย Short, simple and sweet ๐Ÿ™‚

Kaylee

Woo hoo! Now that the design is done, here is the last part ๐Ÿ™‚ I clicked “Add to Cart” and this is how the “Checkout” page looks like:

checkout

I bought this during Deepavali, so I got to apply a “Promo code” ๐Ÿ™‚ After payment, next is just to sit back and relax while waiting for the parcel to arrive at my doorstep soon!!

I really love their tagline –ย โ€œPrintcious.com โ€“ Precious Gifts From Your Heartโ€; isn’t that meaningful? All gifts are special but a personalized gift has magic effect because the giver has taken an extra effort to get something that is meant only for the recipient ๐Ÿ™‚

Printcious is a company that provides printing services on personalised gift items such as T-shirts, mugs, puzzles, phone cases, cushions, mousepads, ceramic tiles and mini tees. These items are suitable for gift-giving occasions such as birthday, wedding, graduation, anniversary or corporate events.

If you are interested in customizing their items (and I can see a great variety here!), you can do so at their website: www.printcious.com.my.

Do you have anyone in mind already? Quick, go check this out and I hope this post will help you to expand your ideas in gift giving ๐Ÿ™‚

ACWYreviews · Yumz

[YUMZ] LW Steamboat ~ ๆœ็Ž‹ ๆญฃๅฎ—็Œช่‚š้ธก็ซ้”…

It was Mid-Autumn Festival [a.k.a. Mooncake Festival] on 4 October 2017; family members would gather together for dinner to celebrate the occasion.

How was your celebration? I celebrated with my friend and she brought me to this steamboat place. I am not a fan of steamboat [especially those buffet style – this is not buffet style], but the weather on that day was perfect for steamboat ๐Ÿ˜€

Looking at the Menu, there are 3 soup base to choose from – Fish Head [้ฑผๅคด็‚‰ๆฑคๅบ•], Pork Belly Chicken [็Œช่‚š้ธกๆฑค] and Lala (clam) [ไธŠๆฑคๅ•ฆๅ•ฆๆฑคๅบ•]; the soups are priced at RM25.90 each.  We chose Pork Belly Chicken, take a look at the soup ๐Ÿ™‚

I love the soup, it is not too spicy nor too bland. They put a lot of pork belly in the soup together with red dates and goji berry. The restaurant is very generous in topping up the soup for us without us telling them to do so. I give the soup thumbs up – rating at 8.0/10.0 ๐Ÿ™‚

Since there were only both of us, we chose the smallest portion, which cost RM18.90:

We also ordered 3 extras – the Mushroom Ball, Fried Chicken Wing and Pork Slices :

The Mushroom Ball is solid; there are 6 for both of us and it is very filling! I could hardly taste the mushroom though, maybe because the taste of the soup has covered it. I rate this at 6.5/10.0.

Oh, I love this Chicken Wings – it is marinated with Preserved Red Bean Curd (“Lam Yu” ~ ่…ไนณ)! They serve a good portion of this. Initially we thought the chicken wings are smaller in size but we were wrong. This one is another thumbs up, rating at 8.5/10.0 ๐Ÿ˜€

Last but not least, they had a promotion for the Pork Slices (I cannot remember the name of the pork slice), priced at RM1.00 because there were 2 of us. Yes, only RM1.00 ๐Ÿ™‚ I am not a pork fan, but I can accept this; I will rate this at 7.0/10.0

We did not order any drink, so there is nothing to comment about. They serve many types of drinks – herbal drinks, juices, can drinks, various types of tea and water.

The information on the restaurant is as follows:

Website: https://www.facebook.com/LWsteamboat/

E-mail: lwsteamboatgroup@gmail.com

Branches:

ๅบ—ๅ๏ผšๆœ็Ž‹ๆญฃๅฎ—็Œช่‚š้ธก็…ฒ็ซ้”… LW Steamboat (Setia Alam branch)
Opening Hours ่ฅไธšๆ—ถ้—ด๏ผšMon – Sun : 5.30pm – 12.30am (No OFF Day)
Contact No. ่”็ปœๅท็ ๏ผš03-3359 7223
Address ๅœฐๅ€๏ผš
No.1-4G & 1-5G ,Jalan Setia Prima WU12/W ,
Seksyen U13 Setia Alam ,40170 Shah Alam ,Selangor .
.
ๅบ—ๅ๏ผšๆœ็Ž‹ๆญฃๅฎ—็Œช่‚š้ธก็…ฒ็ซ้”… LW Steamboat (Kepong branch)
Opening Hours ่ฅไธšๆ—ถ้—ด๏ผšMon – Sun : 5.30pm – 12.30am (No OFF Day)
Contact No. ่”็ปœๅท็ ๏ผš03-6241 9470 / 016-980 2723
Address ๅœฐๅ€๏ผš
No 9-11, Jalan 3/34A,
Kepong entrepreneurs Park,
7th miles Jalan Kepong 52100 KL.

ๅบ—ๅ๏ผšๆœ็Ž‹ๆญฃๅฎ—็Œช่‚š้ธก็…ฒ็ซ้”… LW Steamboat(Serdang branch)
Opening Hours ่ฅไธšๆ—ถ้—ด๏ผšMon – Sun : 5.30pm – 12.30am (No OFF Day)
Contact No. ่”็ปœๅท็ ๏ผš016-378 4121 Mei Mei
Address ๅœฐๅ€๏ผš
No.59, Jalan PSK 7, Pusat Perdagangan,
43300 Seri Kembangan, Serdang.

Activity · ACWYreviews · ACWYruns · Event

[RUNNING EVENT] 2XU Compression Run Malaysia 2017

I have been busy with work lately, so was not able to write on weekly basis. Today I managed to find some time to share about my experience about a running event that took place on 24 September 2017 ~ the 2XU Compression Run

It was my first time joining the 2XU Compression Run and the motivation factor was the finisher tee ๐Ÿ™‚

The timing chip has always been attached together with the bib but this time, the organiser decided to be different; they provided us with a stripe and we are to tie it to our shoes. I personally find this inconvenient and troublesome.

screenshot_2017-09-28-21-07-16-1277034934.png

We arrived an hour earlier. There we many boards for runners to take photos and sufficient portable toilets so the queue was bearable. I saw many trucks at the race venue, but only managed to visit the hydration booth.

About 15 minutes before 05:00, we made our way to the starting point. As there were three waves for Half Marathon category, we aimed for the first, so that we would not be left too far behind.

photogrid_1506606320220277034934.jpg
Jom, wefie ๐Ÿ™‚

At 04:55, the emcee announced, “I hope all of you had a good rest with 8 hours of sleep last night. This is one of the most challenging run

At 04:58, we had an odd moment at the starting line when all of sudden we were told to move to the side to make way for the ambulance; so we moved to the side and then the race started, with the ambulance still moving toward the front – macam tu pun boleh?

The race started at Padang Merbok. Now, when a run starts at this place, we know that hilly routes are awaiting us – the famous Bukit Tunku. This is not the first time I run at Padang Merbok, in fact, my first running event was held at this place; I have a love hate relationship with this route – I love it because it is challenging and I hate it because it is torturing :p [Check this out –ย https://www.timeout.com/kuala-lumpur/sport-and-fitness/best-running-trails-in-kl]

Let me share with you the route for 21km:

screenshot_2017-09-28-21-07-35-1-304736628.png

As you can see, there were many hills and U-turns – so the race was not only about physical challenge, but was also about mental challenge.

We hit the housing area pretty early; there were so many parts that had no proper lighting, so we had to run in the dark. It was quite dangerous as there were no marshals around to guide us too (on second thought, marshals would not want to be in the dark too). I tried to follow the crowd as close as possible, for my own safety.

After conquering the first part of the hill, I was glad to see the first water station but the second water station appeared very soon. At that point, I was thinking, “Wow, this is not bad, seems that we have water stations at every KM“; but, this was not the case – the distance between the water stations were inconsistent.

photogrid_15066054464392027484061.jpg

Hydration is important for runners, but I was quite disappointed as from the fourth water station (KM11?) onward, there was no more mineral water being served. From the Race Guide, we know that Lucozade is the Official Hydration. I like Lucozade, but to have isotonic drink throughout the race make us feel more dehydrated and thirsty. I heard many runners complained, “Surely many will complain. Why no water? We want water!

I cannot remember how many U-turns we have made; some of the roads were quite narrow, making the U-turn experience not too pleasant. At U-turns, we expect some kind of check and balance to discourage cheating – ribbon or something to indicate that we have made the U-turn, that is, if a time detector mat (not sure how we call it) is unavailable. There were only two checkpoints but we made more than two U-turns.

photogrid_1506607428534-2138565951.jpg
The slope & steep hill at KM14

 

 

The route was tough; from the beginning up to KM19, we conquered hills after hills, and those hills were steep! I overheard a runner telling his friend (while we were conquering a hill), “You better save some energy now because later we are heading to a steeper hill at Hockey Stadium” – true enough, the hill at Hockey Stadium was steep!ย At about KM14, we were going down a slope but many of us wowed when we saw another steep hill awaiting us. Some of the runners even stopped to snap a photo, and I did the same too :p

photogrid_1506604610267-648745248.jpg
Analysis done by Strava

 

All right, after the torturing run, let’s have fun – take some nice photos and reward ourselves with a delicious meal before we call it a day ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you enjoyed reading this. The End ๐Ÿ™‚

 

ACWYreviews · ACWYwrites · Content Sharing · Yumz

[YUMZ] Juice Works – Heartbeat

The heart is a muscular organ in humans and other animals, which pumps blood through the blood vessels of the circulatory system. Blood provides the body with oxygen and nutrients, as well as assists in the removal of metabolic wastes. In humans, the heart is located between the lungs, in the middle compartment of the chest.

Heart disease, is No. 1 killer in Malaysia, and about 20% of Malaysians are prone to it. Contrary to popular belief, it is heart disease and not breast cancer that is the leading cause of death among women in Malaysia, according to the National Heart Institute or IJN.

As a runner, news about runners’ passing due to cardiac arrest during a run is nothing new and it is always sad to receive news like this ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hence, it is important to remind ourselves to listen to our body and not to push ourselves too hard.

Life is pretty much unpredictable, but prevention is better than cure. We are responsibile for our own health, and can take steps to lead a healthy life ๐Ÿ™‚

In conjunction with the World Heart Day that takes place on 29 September each year, Juice Works is introducing ‘Heartbeat’, a seasonal drink that is filled with all the natural goodness Mother Nature provides to help us combat against this silent killer.

JW Heartbeat - A3 (no diecut) Output

What is so special about ‘Heartbeat’?

It consists of five (5) main ingredients ~

Grapefruit

Grapefruit helps to maintain a healthy heart with its powerful nutrient combination of fibre, lycopene, vitamin C, potassium and choline.

One research foundthat a diet supplemented with fresh red grapefruit positively influences blood lipid levels, especially triglycerides.

Cucumber

Cucumber is low in calorie, high in fibre and water content; it is also rich in potassium to help lower blood pressure and contains polyphenols called lignans, which can potentially reduce the risk of certain cancers and cardiovascular diseases.

Another bonus: it is rich in vitamin K, which is essential for bone health.

Orange

Researchers have reported that this cheerful fruit has an antioxidant called hesperidin, which improves blood vessel function and helps lower a person’s risk of heart disease.

Hesperidin is a plant-based compound called flavonoid, which is said to improve the health of the delicate cells that line blood vessels.

Carrot

Carrots are a very good source of both antioxidant alpha and beta carotene, which are converted in the body to retinol (vitamin A), which is good for skin, lungs, immune system and heart health. They also contain the antioxidant lutein, which is vital for eye health.

Apple

Studies have shown that eating apples daily can help lower the bad cholesterol called LDL in the body and two other markers associated with plaques and inflammation in artery walls. It seems apples do live up to that old adage of helping to keep the doctor away when eaten daily.

With all these goodness in one drink, what are you waiting for? Quick, get one before it is too late ๐Ÿ™‚

Heartbeat is now available at every Juice Works and Juice Works2Go outlets. Whatโ€™s more, if youโ€™re a Juicy VIP member, you get 10% off the retail price**!

**Cannot be combined with other ongoing discounts/offers/vouchers

**This seasonal drink is only available till 31 October 2017

**While stocks last

**Juice Works Malaysia reserves the right of final decision on all matters regarding this promotion

**********

I missed the “Green Dinosaur” the last round because they ran out of spinach, so this time, I grabbed one while it is still early ๐Ÿ˜€

I bought Midi ๐Ÿ™‚
The “Heartbeat” that I bought
Membership Benefits; RM12.00 for two (2) years

Rating:

Taste – 6.5/10
Price – 5.8/10

Verdict:

Refreshing. Thirst quenching. It has a subtle hint of bitterness but I quite like the overall taste. I would love to try to make this at home, if I have the time; but for a quick fix, Juice Works is the place!

Let me know your thoughts once you have tried out “Heartbeat” ๐Ÿ™‚

ACWYreviews · Service

[SERVICE] Number 76 @ Mid Valley Megamall

I am a bit picky when we talk about haircut. You see, my hair is straight, fine, thin and oily, so I need a hairstyle that adds volume but that is not too easy, because I prefer a low maintenance hairstyle and haircut. So, I love short hair, especially pixie cut ๐Ÿ™‚

I was introduced to Number 76 back in 2015 and had my first cut by Terry Yong in November 2015.

Number 76, Mid Valley Megamall

 

wp-image--114342681
Nov 2015 – I cannot locate the photo I took after the cut, but this is just nice. Before : Left & Right, After: Middle

Fast forward, what do I think about Number 76, Mid Valley branch?

Receptionist: 5.0/10

Receptionist plays an important role as they give the first impression in any given field. To be honest, I am not always happy with their receptionist. Sometimes they can be friendly, other times, you will feel that they hold their heads up high and you are invisible to them.

Hair Wash: 7.0/10

I kind of enjoy the hair wash, although I hope they would give us a good (and longer) head massage as they wash our hair. They would ask if we like to have the water warm or cold, and give a brief explanation of what they are going to do next.

Hair Cut: 8.5/10

My friend recommended Terry to me, and since my first visit I have not tried other stylists because I think I have found one that meets my requirements. I like the way he cuts, because the style will stay in shape until my next cut. I guess, when we have short hair, that is quite crucial as we do not wish to look like a lioness when our hair grows longer.

Hairstylist – Terry: 7.8/10

While I admire his talent, Terry is very busy, and because of his popularity, patience and understanding are required :p

Usually it will take about 5 to 10 minutes before he comes and attend to you and asks what type of service you would like to have that day. Feel free to ask for his opinion, and he will give you suggestions and recommendations on the type of hairstyle that would suit you based on the shape of your face, the texture of your hair and so on.

Be prepared that he will be interrupted while attending to you, which is something I am not very happy about – imagine, he is holding a strand of hair and before he could show off his skill, his colleague comes and asks him question and then he puts down that strand of hair and walks away, and you will be wondering, “will he remember where he stopped?”

Sometimes he will remember to inform you that he needs to walk away, sometimes he may be too excited and just walks away. As he is the Branch Manager, we just have to be understanding and have some patience – so long as the outcome is satisfactory.

Bidding Goodbye: 5.5/10

We are back to the receptionist to make payment. You may want to refer to their Services (together with the price)ย here. Sometimes they will thank you, other times they just “forgotten” to do so.

Extra Note:

  • They serve a drink with a biscuit, so do remember to ask for it, just in case they have forgotten to do so
  • On your first visit, you will be asked to fill in your details, and once you have done so, you are considered as a “member” of Number 76; it is IMPORTANT to bring your Member Card on every visit because failure to do so, you will not be able to enjoy members’ privileges
  • Bookings can be made online via their website:ย http://booking.number76.com

Sharing is caring, I have recommended Terry to my friends as well, and one of them has agreed to let me share with all of you how she looks after the transformation ๐Ÿ™‚

 

wp-image--1001755730
BEFORE

My friend did rebonding few days before we came to Number 76; so Terry gave his opinion that he could not do much other than to trim her hair. This picture was taken before our hairdo.

As it was her birthday month, she enjoyed the free treatment that Number 76 offered to their members ๐Ÿ™‚ After the hairdo, she was of the opinion that she still looked very much the same after the cut.

wp-image-723435442
This is how we look after our hairdo ๐Ÿ™‚

All right, time to go to bed. Hope you enjoyed reading this Post. Thank you for dropping by and good night ๐Ÿ™‚