ACWYreviews · ACWYwrites · Content Sharing · Yumz

[YUMZ] Juice Works – Heartbeat

The heart is a muscular organ in humans and other animals, which pumps blood through the blood vessels of the circulatory system. Blood provides the body with oxygen and nutrients, as well as assists in the removal of metabolic wastes. In humans, the heart is located between the lungs, in the middle compartment of the chest.

Heart disease, is No. 1 killer in Malaysia, and about 20% of Malaysians are prone to it. Contrary to popular belief, it is heart disease and not breast cancer that is the leading cause of death among women in Malaysia, according to the National Heart Institute or IJN.

As a runner, news about runners’ passing due to cardiac arrest during a run is nothing new and it is always sad to receive news like this 😦 Hence, it is important to remind ourselves to listen to our body and not to push ourselves too hard.

Life is pretty much unpredictable, but prevention is better than cure. We are responsibile for our own health, and can take steps to lead a healthy life πŸ™‚

In conjunction with the World Heart Day that takes place on 29 September each year, Juice Works is introducing ‘Heartbeat’, a seasonal drink that is filled with all the natural goodness Mother Nature provides to help us combat against this silent killer.

JW Heartbeat - A3 (no diecut) Output

What is so special about ‘Heartbeat’?

It consists of five (5) main ingredients ~

Grapefruit

Grapefruit helps to maintain a healthy heart with its powerful nutrient combination of fibre, lycopene, vitamin C, potassium and choline.

One research foundthat a diet supplemented with fresh red grapefruit positively influences blood lipid levels, especially triglycerides.

Cucumber

Cucumber is low in calorie, high in fibre and water content; it is also rich in potassium to help lower blood pressure and contains polyphenols called lignans, which can potentially reduce the risk of certain cancers and cardiovascular diseases.

Another bonus: it is rich in vitamin K, which is essential for bone health.

Orange

Researchers have reported that this cheerful fruit has an antioxidant called hesperidin, which improves blood vessel function and helps lower a person’s risk of heart disease.

Hesperidin is a plant-based compound called flavonoid, which is said to improve the health of the delicate cells that line blood vessels.

Carrot

Carrots are a very good source of both antioxidant alpha and beta carotene, which are converted in the body to retinol (vitamin A), which is good for skin, lungs, immune system and heart health. They also contain the antioxidant lutein, which is vital for eye health.

Apple

Studies have shown that eating apples daily can help lower the bad cholesterol called LDL in the body and two other markers associated with plaques and inflammation in artery walls. It seems apples do live up to that old adage of helping to keep the doctor away when eaten daily.

With all these goodness in one drink, what are you waiting for? Quick, get one before it is too late πŸ™‚

Heartbeat is now available at every Juice Works and Juice Works2Go outlets. What’s more, if you’re a Juicy VIP member, you get 10% off the retail price**!

**Cannot be combined with other ongoing discounts/offers/vouchers

**This seasonal drink is only available till 31 October 2017

**While stocks last

**Juice Works Malaysia reserves the right of final decision on all matters regarding this promotion

**********

I missed the “Green Dinosaur” the last round because they ran out of spinach, so this time, I grabbed one while it is still early πŸ˜€

I bought Midi πŸ™‚
The “Heartbeat” that I bought
Membership Benefits; RM12.00 for two (2) years

Rating:

Taste – 6.5/10
Price – 5.8/10

Verdict:

Refreshing. Thirst quenching. It has a subtle hint of bitterness but I quite like the overall taste. I would love to try to make this at home, if I have the time; but for a quick fix, Juice Works is the place!

Let me know your thoughts once you have tried out “Heartbeat” πŸ™‚

Advertisements
ACWYreviews · Service

[SERVICE] Number 76 @ Mid Valley Megamall

I am a bit picky when we talk about haircut. You see, my hair is straight, fine, thin and oily, so I need a hairstyle that adds volume but that is not too easy, because I prefer a low maintenance hairstyle and haircut. So, I love short hair, especially pixie cut πŸ™‚

I was introduced to Number 76 back in 2015 and had my first cut by Terry Yong in November 2015.

Number 76, Mid Valley Megamall

 

wp-image--114342681
Nov 2015 – I cannot locate the photo I took after the cut, but this is just nice. Before : Left & Right, After: Middle

Fast forward, what do I think about Number 76, Mid Valley branch?

Receptionist: 5.0/10

Receptionist plays an important role as they give the first impression in any given field. To be honest, I am not always happy with their receptionist. Sometimes they can be friendly, other times, you will feel that they hold their heads up high and you are invisible to them.

Hair Wash: 7.0/10

I kind of enjoy the hair wash, although I hope they would give us a good (and longer) head massage as they wash our hair. They would ask if we like to have the water warm or cold, and give a brief explanation of what they are going to do next.

Hair Cut: 8.5/10

My friend recommended Terry to me, and since my first visit I have not tried other stylists because I think I have found one that meets my requirements. I like the way he cuts, because the style will stay in shape until my next cut. I guess, when we have short hair, that is quite crucial as we do not wish to look like a lioness when our hair grows longer.

Hairstylist – Terry: 7.8/10

While I admire his talent, Terry is very busy, and because of his popularity, patience and understanding are required :p

Usually it will take about 5 to 10 minutes before he comes and attend to you and asks what type of service you would like to have that day. Feel free to ask for his opinion, and he will give you suggestions and recommendations on the type of hairstyle that would suit you based on the shape of your face, the texture of your hair and so on.

Be prepared that he will be interrupted while attending to you, which is something I am not very happy about – imagine, he is holding a strand of hair and before he could show off his skill, his colleague comes and asks him question and then he puts down that strand of hair and walks away, and you will be wondering, “will he remember where he stopped?”

Sometimes he will remember to inform you that he needs to walk away, sometimes he may be too excited and just walks away. As he is the Branch Manager, we just have to be understanding and have some patience – so long as the outcome is satisfactory.

Bidding Goodbye: 5.5/10

We are back to the receptionist to make payment. You may want to refer to their Services (together with the price)Β here. Sometimes they will thank you, other times they just “forgotten” to do so.

Extra Note:

  • They serve a drink with a biscuit, so do remember to ask for it, just in case they have forgotten to do so
  • On your first visit, you will be asked to fill in your details, and once you have done so, you are considered as a “member” of Number 76; it is IMPORTANT to bring your Member Card on every visit because failure to do so, you will not be able to enjoy members’ privileges
  • Bookings can be made online via their website:Β http://booking.number76.com

Sharing is caring, I have recommended Terry to my friends as well, and one of them has agreed to let me share with all of you how she looks after the transformation πŸ™‚

 

wp-image--1001755730
BEFORE

My friend did rebonding few days before we came to Number 76; so Terry gave his opinion that he could not do much other than to trim her hair. This picture was taken before our hairdo.

As it was her birthday month, she enjoyed the free treatment that Number 76 offered to their members πŸ™‚ After the hairdo, she was of the opinion that she still looked very much the same after the cut.

wp-image-723435442
This is how we look after our hairdo πŸ™‚

All right, time to go to bed. Hope you enjoyed reading this Post. Thank you for dropping by and good night πŸ™‚

 

 

ACWYwrites · Content Sharing · Yumz

[YUMZ] Juice Works – Green Dinosaur

For the past month, I have been having lemon juice with chia seeds in the morning, and salad for lunch. The outcome? I feel that my body is lighter and more energised; coffee is not necessary because I feel fresh and awake. It is true that “you are what you eat“.

No doubt that preparing own meal is always the best, but once in a while, it is nice to chillax and get ourselves a yummylicious drink, such as Juice Works‘ new drink Green Dinosaur.

Let’s have a look at the ingredients:

Spinach. Chia Seeds. Lime. Lychee. Low Fat Vanilla Ice Cream.*I love these!* together with Tropical Juice and Sorbet >>> *yumz* ~

Isn’t it tempting? and it is only available until 31 August 2017!

Juice Works Green Dinosaur

 

SPINACH!

Β I’m Popeye the Sailor Man,
I’m Popeye the Sailor Man.
I’m strong to the finich
Cause I eats me spinach.
I’m Popeye the Sailor Man.

Sounds familiar? πŸ˜€

This leafy veggie, which ranks second out of nine best salad greens, is rich in water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins, a wide variety of phytonutrients, and loads of chlorophyll. Specifically, it is a great source of the minerals magnesium and iron, vitamins B2, B6, K and E, and folate. It also has calcium, potassium, Vitamin A, manganese, and copper!

CHIA SEEDS

I started having chia seeds when I made overnight oats; until recently, I add it in lemon juice. A 100-gram serving of chia seeds is a rich source (20% or more of the Daily Value, DV) of thiamine and niacin (54% and 59%, respectively), and a moderate source of riboflavin and folate (14% and 12% DV, respectively). The same amount of chia seeds contains high amounts (48–130% DV) of the dietary minerals calcium, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorus and zinc.

LYCHEE

The fleshy fruit, is rich in the antioxidant Vitamin C, and is known as one of the fruits with the highest concentrations of polyphenols among fruits – including rutin, which is a bioflavonoid known to strengthen blood vessels. It also has quercetin, a powerful antioxidant with anti-inflammatory properties, as well as kaempferol which is known for its cancer-fighting andheart-healthy benefits.

Whoa, just a cup of this but it is packed with lots of goodness, who could resist? I am going to get my cup soon, how about you? πŸ˜‰

**Green Dinosaurs come in three different cup sizes: Junior (250mL) RM8.95; Midi (450mL) RM9.95; and Power (650mL) RM10.95.

Activity · ACWYreviews

[ACTIVITY] Adult Colouring

Feeling blue? Let me share with you about one of the activities that I enjoy doing ~ Adult Colouring.

I was never good at art back in high school days; if I could get a C, I would say “Yay!”. So, to imagine myself sitting down and colouring, is actually quite funny, hehe (“,)

Adult Colouring became very popular in 2015; one of the more popular colouring book is Secret Garden by Johanna Basford. There are others like Enchanted Forest and Lost Ocean; you can find out more from her website: https://www.johannabasford.com/

Despite not being gifted in arts, I decided to give it a try and bought my first book, Mandalas and few small boxes of coloured pencils. This was my first try:

wp-image-682467716
I started with three (3) small boxes of coloured pencils

When I first started colouring, I was excited but at the same time, concern about the colour coordination and colouring skills; I would text my friends and ask them, “Hey, what colour should I apply next? Can I match pink with green? How should I colour this branch, or that flower?” …and the list goes on.

After some time, I realised that it is actually not so much about being gifted or otherwise. My concerns are valid, but what is more important would be the benefits that I gain from the activity. So, I stopped asking πŸ™‚

Colouring, is a form of Art Therapy, which seeks to help one to relax, release stress, improve concentration et cetera. It requires patience, focus, perseverance, (undivided) attention [I listen to music or “watch” drama by listening while I colour – oops], and determination.

I think it is something that you either like or dislike; I have friends who told me that they cannot sit in for hours just to complete less than half of a page – yes, this can happen if the objects require detailed colouring, such as this:

wp-image--29912852

It can be quite tedious, and after a tiring day at work, doing another tedious “job” would be the last one has in mind. Nonetheless, it could be a fun activity too! πŸ™‚

How does Colouring help me?

  • It is important not to bring work (stress) home and at times when I cannot do so, colouring helps me to “escape” from reality (for a while) ~
  • Although I did mention about “escaping” from reality, the distraction actually helps me to think better after the session; you know, when the “cobwebs” are cleared, you get to see things clearer *wink* ~
  • It calms me down and helps me to relax; sometimes we “try too hard” on own effort to relax but we cannot “rush through” when we colour, so the “slowness” helps me to slow down my pace and spontaneously, I will calm down ~
  • The sense of satisfaction and accomplishmentΒ is undeniable, positive energy kicks in πŸ™‚ ~
  • A childhood activity but brings joy in adulthood; a child can be happy for no reason or for the simplest reason – that is the feeling I have ~
  • Art, is subjective – admiring own masterpiece helps to lift up self-esteem ~
  • Creativity has no limits – it is like living in your own world and do whatever you want that you think would be nice in your own eyes, not being conscious with what others think about you; you choose to be you, you choose how you want to express yourself you taste freedomΒ ~

Some of my masterpiece πŸ™‚

wp-image-78136485
Secret Garden
wp-image-872226058
Enchanted Forest
wp-image-1211190981
Lost Ocean
wp-image-34587220
Beautiful Day

How about the drawbacks?

  • Time consuming ~
  • Expensive hobby, depending on the tools and colouring book that you buy ~
  • Addictive ~
  • You may turn out to be anti-social :p ~

So, would you like to try colouring? πŸ™‚

 

 

 

ACWYreviews · Service

[SERVICE] OuiOui Shop @ Mentakab

Mentakab, Pahang – a small town, and it is not easy to find delivery service like in Kuala Lumpur.Β  10 August, was my friend’s birthday and I thought I wanted to order lunch delivery for her, because she tends to have her meals at irregular hours.

A search on Google was unsuccessful – not even fast food delivery can be found in Mentakab; and a friend of mine, C introduced me to OuiOui Shop, an online store that sells, amongst others, desserts…yumzπŸ˜‹

I contacted the owner, Poh Yi, and she was quick to respond and was very helpful and patient to explain to me their menu, and to answer my queries.

Menu:

Sweet Tooth (RM6.00) – Fruit with Yogurt Blend
Fruits Layer (RM8.00) – Fruit with Yogurt Blend, Fresh Fruit & Cereal

Flavours:

  • Mango
  • Avocado Banana
  • Strawberry
  • Kiwi & Blueberry
  • Dragon Fruit & Banana

Service:

Poh Yi was quick to agree when I told her that I wanted to add a note for my friend, and she told me that she would help me to decorate it at no extra cost – aww, that is so sweet of her πŸ™‚

I then got to know from C that my friend is a frequent customer and Poh Yi has taken the trouble to help me check my friend’s usual order to ease my decision-making process πŸ™‚

Finally order is placed, and payment is made. Let’s take a look at my order:

I ordered Strawberry Sweet Tooth & Mango Fruits Layer

Do you like it? I love it! I did not expect a handwritten note and by the way, she has very nice handwriting πŸ™‚

My friend was surprised and at the same time happy to receive the gift πŸ™‚

I believe that in service line, when your customer is happy, you will feel happy too. Oh, take a look at her post on FB :

I love the personalised service that she has provided, and the way she shares the joy with us, as though she is preparing a surprise for her own friend, that is really a thoughtful gesture from her.

I would definitely recommend her to my family and friends πŸ™‚

Where to find her?

20,Jalan Bunga Matahari,Β Mentakab

Contact Details:

+ 60 11-5504 0368

The business was established in March 2017. They also sell products related to beauty, cosmetic and personal care.

* The photos in this post are sent by Poh Yi and posted on this blog with her permission πŸ™‚

Places · Yumz

[YUMZ] Go Noodle House ~ ζœ‰ι–“ιΊ΅ι€¨ @ Setia City Mall

Legs up if you have not heard of Go Noodle House (GNH) πŸ™‚ [At the time of posting, they are upgrading their website – https://gotrio3.com/restaurants/]

A good friend of mine introduced me to this restaurant some time this year, or maybe last year. I cannot remember how many times I have visited this restaurant at its different branches; but today, I want to write a review on their newly opened branch in Setia City Mall (SCM).

I had a craving for something spicy on 31 July 2017, and planned to dine at BMS Organics but decided to check if GNH has opened and voila! I quickly entered and grabbed a seat and made my order.

The interior is similar to other branches. The ancient Chinese era, with wooden tables and stools or benches, and they have a gong outside too!

There are variety of choices in their Menu. I always go for the basic ~ Mi Xian with Bursting Meat Ball in Superior or Spicy Soup. Patrons are given the flexibility to customise their bowl ~ Type of Noodle: Mi Xian (specialty handmade thick noodle) or Bee Hoon, Type of Soup: Superior or Spicy, and various types of toppings.

Since I wanted something spicy, so I ordered the Home Made Spicy Soup Bursting Meat Ball. This was what I had in their Mid Valley (MV) branch on 14 May 2017:

Home Made Spicy Soup Bursting Meat Ball

So I was expecting to be served the same but to my disappointment, this was served on 31 July 2017:

Could you see the difference in terms of presentation, especially on the colour of the broth?

It was quite apparent that the one served in SCM was diluted, and it was not spicy; it tasted more or less like Maggi Curry 😦 Besides, the Mi Xian was too soft and flimsy, I had to attempt several times before I could finally put it in my mouth 😦

I walked to the counter to make payment and was informed that they were doing a trial run, so the dinner was on the house! πŸ˜€ In return, they asked for feedback, so I just gave them my honest feedback.

Rating – Spicy Soup:

Presentation – 7.0/10 (omitting the colour of the broth)
Taste – 5.0/10
Service – 7.0/10
Cleanliness – 7.5/10

Despite my disappointments, I decided to pay them another visit so I came back a week later and tried their Superior Soup this time.

Superior Soup Bursting Meat Ball
wp-image--1404567820
Bursting Meat Ball

The Superior Soup has a subtle hint of wine taste and this is something good to have on a rainy day:) It warms the tummy and I really like that feeling.

The broth was a bit salty to my liking but it was not as bad as the Spicy Soup I had the week before. The Mi Xian this time was almost the same texture like what I always have at other branches ~ lovely!

They are famous for their Bursting Meat Ball, which is something like Fuzhou Fish Ball with minced pork inside. This, it is pork meat ball with minced meat inside. It is juicy, bouncy, and I would recommend this!

 

Rating – Superior Soup

Presentation – 7.5/10
Taste – 7.5/10
Service – 7.0/10
Cleanliness – 7.5/10

Verdict:

I will always come back to this place and keeping my fingers crossed that when I have the Spicy Soup again, it will taste as good as the ones I have tried πŸ™‚ I love the portion, which is just nice and it serves a well-balanced meal at an affordable price ~

A happy tummy, a happy me πŸ™‚

ACWYreviews · Products

[YADAH] Moisturising Mask Pack

Woo hoo! Weekend is coming soon, are you excited about it? πŸ™‚

Lately, I have many friends who went to Korea for holiday; and as we know, Korea is a country with many beauties and handsome, and they are very popular with skincare products. So, 10 out of 10 will give me masks as souvenirs.

At first, I collected the masks and keep it for emergencies, and when I realised that many will be expiring soon, I started to apply mask more frequently, and I love that feeling! You know, when your skin looks healthy, automatically you will feel good too πŸ™‚

Then I started to make purchases and today, I want to share about this Yadah – Moisturising Mask Pack πŸ™‚

I cannot search for Yadah’s information online, so I do not have much idea about their background. I bought the masks from Hermo, at the price of RM69.00 for [10 + 10] Mask Packs (on average, each is costs at RM3.45) :-

[10+10] Yadah Mask Packs

  • + Yadah Brightening Mask Pack 1pc x4
  • + Yadah Collagen Mask Pack 1pc x4
  • + Yadah Moisturizing Mask Pack 1pc x4
  • + Yadah Vitalizing Mask Pack 1pc x4
  • + Yadah Soothing Mask Pack 1pc x4

I chose this Moisturising Mask Pack, because I did a clay mask the night before, so my skin felt pretty tight the next morning.

After I washed my face, I applied toner:

wp-image--1769007255
My just-woke-up face

Then I applied the Mask for 20 minutes:

While waiting for the Mask to do wonders, I continued with my normal routine πŸ™‚

The Mask uses 100% cotton sheet, so even though I have sensitive skin, it is soft and gentle on my skin. It uses real ingredients [WOW!] and each sheet is equivalent to 25g of essence [WOW! WOW!]

After 20 minutes, the Mask is not fully dry and I think that is a good sign! Then, I took off the mask:

I guess from the photos we cannot see much difference, but what I can tell you is, I thinkΒ I have done my skin a great favour! *happy* ~ My skin feels moisturised and does not feel tight anymore, and I think my skin looks brighter too πŸ™‚

Ah, one more important thing to highlight – my sensitive skin has no issues with this Mask πŸ™‚

Now, I am ready for weekend πŸ™‚

Rating : 8.0/10